Friendswood & Dawson Girls Compete for Title

In News, Sports by Reporter News

Most of the top volleyball honors for 24-4A went to the Pearland Dawson and Friendswood players as both teams tied for the district championship while Friendswood went on to win the 4A Region III crown and advanced to the 4A state volleyball tournament for the second straight year.

Dawson and Friendswood traveled through the playoffs until they met in the region finals with the winner advancing to the state tournament.

The Lady Mustangs rallied from two sets down to beat the Lady Eagles 22-25, 21-25, 26-24, 25-20, 15-9and to defend their Class 4A Region III title. Friendswood fell to eventual 4A state champion Amarillo in the state semifinals.

For Dawson, new head coach Jason Karim took the Lady Eagles to the region finals for the first time in school history. Former head coach Lori McLaughlin should also be credited for building a solid foundation before passing the baton to Karim this past season.

As a result, Dawson had three players sign letters-of-intent to continue their education and playing careers. They are: Gabbi Moreno (University of Alabama-Birmingham), Kesley Ediger (Marist College), and Chelsea Satterwhite (San Jacinto College).

Meanwhile, Friendswood head coach Kelly Beck also had to coach a very young, but talented team that had their ups and downs during the regular season, but Beck was able to get the most from her girls, who weren’t expected this year to be able to defend their region title. A lot of hard work from the players and some wise coaching by Beck produced the upset over Dawson to send the Lady ‘Stangs for a
return trip to state.

Friendswood’s Harley Kelly was named 24-4A Most Valuable Player.

Dawson had three players receive top awards. They were Kelsey Ediger who was named Defensive MVP; Jordan Brown who was named Newcomer of the Year; and Gabbi Moreno who was named Setter MVP.

Named to the All-District first-team were: Sidnee Fitzpatrick (Friendswood), Amberly Jeane (Dawson), Carey Landon (Friendwood), Sarah Redding (Friendswood), Chelsea Satterwhite (Dawson), and Aylssa
Sinnette (Dawson).

Named to the All-District second-team were: Zoe Hill (Dawson), Amelia Roden (Dawson), Erika Rodriguez (Dawson), Bailee Whitmarsh (Friendsood), and Charlotte Wright (Friendswood).

Honorable mention honors went to: Alix Binson (Dawson), Gabrielle Ruffeno (Friendswood), and Jessica Ruffing (Friendswood).

Print Friendly, PDF & Email