Alvin ISD Principals of the Year

In Lifestyle by Reporter News

Alvin ISD officials have announced the Principals of the Year for 2014. Aeniqua Flowers of Laura Ingalls Wilder Elementary was selected as the Elementary Principal of the Year; while Lisa Burns of Harby Junior High was selected as the Secondary Principal of the Year.

Aeniqua Flowers first joined Alvin ISD as an assistant principal at Manvel High School in 2008, and was selected as the principal of Wilder Elementary in the fall of 2012. She also served as an elementary teacher, a science specialist and an associate principal in two other districts, prior to joining the Alvin ISD family.

Lisa Burns first started her career as a part of the Alvin ISD team in 1988 as a science teacher at Alvin Junior High. She would eventually become an assistant principal at Harby Junior High, and then in 2012 she was designated as the principal of the campus.

“Aeniqua and Lisa are both outstanding leaders who have a passion for children and public education. We are extremely proud of the work that they do daily, and the impact that it is having on the lives of our students,” said Dr. Fred Brent, Alvin ISD superintendent of schools.

The 2014 Principals of the Year were selected by other leaders in the District. They will be formally recognized at the District’s annual Employee Recognition Ceremony on May 29. Flowers and Burns will also represent Alvin ISD at the Region IV Principal of the Year banquet later this spring.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email