Countywide Voting Centers provides convenience for voters

In News by Reporter News

The Brazoria County Elections Office, under the direction of Joyce Hudman, County Clerk, is pleased to announce the upcoming use of Vote Centers for the May 9 and all future elections.

Vote Centers, also known as the Countywide Polling Place Program, enables any registered voter in the county to vote at any Vote Center polling place on Election Day. Previously, a voter had to go to one certain location based on registration address, but the new program allows voting convenient to work, commuter route or home.

Selection as a participant in this program is made by the Texas Secretary of State’s office. Requirements for the program are:
1) Public Hearing(s). Brazoria County held six public hearings in different areas of the county, at which members of the public could ask questions and make comments. Transcripts of these hearings were sent to the Secretary of State’s office.
2) Software for a computerized voter registration list, that allows a pollworker to verify that a voter has not previously voted in the election;
3) Use of electronic voting machines, which Brazoria County has used since 2006;
4) Approval by Commissioners Court.

The Elections Office has been using the same 29 locations since 2007, for all elections except the November general elections. All of these locations will be kept open for Vote Centers.

The following locations will be open to any registered voter of Brazoria County for the May 9 local election:
Alvin – Alvin Library, 105 S Gordon
Alvin – Ryan Center, 2925 S Bypass 35
Alvin/Hillcrest – Hillcrest Village Municipal Building, 200 W Timberlane
Angleton – East Annex (Old Walmart), 1524 E Mulberry
Angleton – West Annex, 451 N Velasco
Bonney – Bonney Annex Building, 19025 FM 521
Brazoria – Brazoria Library, 620 S Brooks
Brazoria – Mims Community Center, 4283 FM 521
Clute – Clute City Hall, 108 E Main
Danbury – Danbury Community Center, 6115 5th St
Freeport – Freeport Library, 410 Brazosport Blvd
Holiday – Lakes Holiday Lakes City Hall, 195 N Texas Ave
Lake Jackson – Lake Jackson Civic Center, 333 Hwy 332 East
Liverpool – Liverpool City Hall, 8901 CR 171
Manvel – Courthouse North Annex, 7313 Corporate Dr
Oyster Creek – Oyster Creek City Hall, 3210 FM 523
Pearland – Drainage District # 4 Building, 4813 W Broadway
Pearland – Fellowship Bible Church, 1720 E Broadway
Pearland – Pearland Library, 3522 Liberty Dr
Pearland – Pearland Westside Library, 2803 Business Center Dr #101
Pearland – Silverlake Recreation Center, 2715 Southwyck Pkwy
Pearland – Turner High School, 4717 Bailey Rd
Pearland – Westside Event Center, 2150 Countryplace Pkwy
Richwood – Richwood City Hall, 1800 N Brazosport Blvd
Surfside Beach – Surfside Beach City Hall, 1304 Monument Dr
Sweeny – Sweeny Community Center, 205 W Ashley Wilson Rd

Three regular locations – Jones Creek, West Columbia and Columbia Lakes – will not be open for this election because all districts were able to cancel their elections in those areas. However, they will be open in future elections.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email