Alvin ISD Counselor of the Year (center) pictured with Assistant Principal Jennifer Marz (left) and campus Principal Elizabeth Sassin (right).

AISD Employees of the Year announced

In News by Reporter News

Alvin ISD district leaders have announced the selection of the 2014-15 employees of the year, which include campus teachers of the year, campus paraprofessionals of the year, the counselor of the year, and other departmental employees. These top employees, along with retirees, and service award recipients will be recognized at that the district’s Employee Recognition Ceremony on May 26.

The individuals selected as the campus teachers of the year will now compete for the district teacher of the year title. One elementary and one secondary teacher will be selected to represent Alvin ISD in the Regional Teacher of the Year Competition. Prior to the selection of the district representatives, each teacher is required to submit a completed application, and participate in an interview process with a selection committee. From there the committee will make recommendations to the superintendent of schools, who will then select an elementary and a secondary teacher of the year to represent Alvin ISD.

The elementary campus teachers of the year for this year are: Sandy Holdsclaw, Alvin Elementary; Lorena Towne, Alvin Primary; Jeanie Schultheis, Don Jeter Elementary; Tonya Richardson, Duke Elementary; Rebecca Garza, E.C. Mason Elementary; Oswaldo Cancinos, Hood-Case Elementary; Dawn Shaffer, Longfellow Elementary; Danica Garza, Mark Twain Elementary; Dana Yesland, Mary Marek Elementary; Misty Kettler, Melba Passmore Elementary; Alejandro Gomez, Savannah Lakes Elementary; Kathleen Anderson, Stevenson Primary; Alyssa DeLaCruz, Walt Disney Elementary; Joni Windham, Wilder Elementary; Amanda Barnard, York Elementary.

The secondary campus teachers of the year are: Gerald Oberg, Alvin High School; Victoria Satterwhite, Manvel High School; Anneke Williams, ADAPT; Edna Reyna, ASSETS Academy; Stacy Nesrsta, Alvin Junior High; Katie Batchelor, Fairview Junior High; Gwendolyn Jones, Harby Junior High; Beverly Stewart, Rodeo Palms Junior High; Amy Gardziel, Nolan Ryan Junior High.

In addition to selecting a teacher of the year, each school also selected a campus paraprofessional of the year, who will compete to become the district paraprofessional of the year. The individuals selected for the 2014-15 school year were Norma Kay, Alvin Elementary; Lisa Medina, Alvin Primary; Pamela Taylor, Don Jeter Elementary; Araceli Reyes, Duke Elementary; Stacy Dixon, E.C. Mason Elementary; Irma Garcia, Hood-Case Elementary; Lori Middleton, Longfellow Elementary; Sylvia Pedraza, Mark Twain Elementary; James Moody, Mary Marek Elementary; Sharon Wyatt, Melba Passmore Elementary; Laura Costello, Savannah Lakes Elementary; Cindy Vargas, Stevenson Primary; Natosha Solis, Walt Disney Elementary; Casey Streater, Wilder Elementary; Winnie Garcia, York Elementary; Greg Goering, Alvin High School; Toni Earles, Manvel High School; LaWanda Daniels, ADAPT; Allison Perez, ASSETS Academy; Linda Fusig, Alvin Junior High; Maria Mercado, Fairview Junior High; Jessica Leija, Harby Junior High; Gerry Martinez, Rodeo Palms Junior High; Vonda Ellis, Nolan Ryan Junior High.

The Alvin ISD Counselor of the Year for the 2014-15 school year is Lakeisha Williams of Savannah Lakes Elementary.

Other Employees of the Year who will be recognized are Maria Trevino, Custodial Operations Employee of the Year; Alex Martinez, Maintenance Employee of the Year; Jason Vargas, Grounds Employee of the Year; Wendy Hoyt, Child Nutrition Employee of the Year; Teresa Kelly, Technology Services Employee of the Year, along with a transportation departmental employee of the year and a police officer of the year. Both of which have not yet been selected.

“Each of our employees of the year have dedicated themselves to the students of Alvin ISD. We appreciate their service, and are proud to have them as a part of the team of committed individuals who make up the district,” said Dr. Buck Gilcrease, superintendent of schools.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email