FISD Education Foundation Director Joseph Ditta represented Gulf Coast Educators Federal Credit Union (GCEFCU) as the major sponsor of the FISD New Employee Luncheon hosted by the Education Foundation and held recently to welcome new staff to the district. He is joined by Superintendent Trish Hanks and Foundation President Allan Rasmussen.

FISD Education Foundation welcomes new FISD staff with luncheon

In News by Reporter News

A warm welcome was extended to all new staff members in Friendswood ISD at the recent New Employee Luncheon sponsored by the FISD Education Foundation.

Held at The Green Event Center in Friendswood, the annual luncheon was generously underwritten by Gulf Coast Educators Federal Credit Union. Joseph Ditta represented GCEFCU at the event and not only sponsored a table but supported the event with a Grand Prize basket and a vendor table. Ditta also serves as a director on the Board of the FISD Education Foundation.

More than 200 attended the event with 70+ new employees present.

Mentors for new teachers were also there along with directors, community sponsors, and FISD Board members and administrators.

Education Foundation President Allan Rasmussen welcomed the groups. Dr. Reagan Ratcliff of Twenty/20 Vision Center and Friendswood High School graduate, was one of two keynote speakers.

Dr. Ratcliff encouraged his audience to be a role model on their campus and enrich the lives of everyone they met. He asked that everyone take a moment and think about each child and how they could help them improve and grow in that child’s areas of interest.

FISD Secondary Teacher of the Year 2015 Kathy Powdrell was the second speaker and gave the new incoming staff steps to becoming a Mustang. She shared her love of teaching and encouraged all to do their best to impact students. Powdrell is the theatre instructor at FHS.

The Friendswood Chamber of Commerce prepared special goody bags for all new staff members. The large bags were filled with information and treats from community members and businesses.

Table hosts included Denise Ruiz, Kenny Koncaba and Texan Bank, Ratcliff and Twenty/20 Vision Center, SkyLyn Gibbons with Fleta Hill and Meg Crowley, Lesley and Tom DiBello, Leslie and Boyd Yarbrough, Kelly and Matt Lovell and United Valve, and Mike and Debbie Hickey with Texas General Contractors.

Additional table hosts were Kathryn and Todd Kinloch with Kinloch Equipment, Sally Branson and Raymond James, Rasmussen and Hometown Bank of Friendswood, Alan and Beth Stanfield of Stanfield Properties, the Hillenburg Family, Sheri Barber and Susan Kelly, Dr. David and Kim Montz, Paige and Steve Ridout, and all six PTOs representing the six campuses, FHS, FJH, Cline, Bales, Westwood, and Windsong.

Vendors for the event include GCEFCU, Texas Emergency Care Center, First Choice Emergency Room , Lice Treatment Center, ACU of Texas/Keystone Realty, and Smart Financial Credit Union.

The New Employee Luncheon Committee members included Chair Kathryn Kinloch, Susan Kelly, Sheri Barber, Marjorie Kovacevich, SkyLyn Gibbons, Joseph Ditta, Kam Hasmukh, Meg Crowley, and Jean Crouch.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email