Dawson, Pearland volleyball players named to All-District teams

In Sports by Reporter NewsLeave a Comment


It came as no surprise that the Dawson Lady Eagles and the Pearland Lady Oilers would have several players named to the All-District 23-6A teams.
Dawson head coach Jason Karim and Pearland head coach John Turner shared Coach of the Year honors.
The Lady Eagles won the district title with a perfect 12-0 mark. Coach Karim has done an incredible job in leading the Dawson volleyball program to be one of the top programs in the state and Houston area.
Turner announced his retirement prior to the start of the volleyball season after leading the Pearland volleyball program ever since 1995.
The veteran coach closed with a sparkling 806-269 career mark while finishing as Pearland’s all-time winningest coach with a 650-215 record. He recorded his 800th victory this season to make him one of the state’s elite coaches.
“In my 32 years of coaching, I have been blessed to not have had a losing season and I attribute that to my players buying into my philosophy/work ethic that I instill in my program from day one when they commit,” Turner said.
The veteran coach will continue to teach for a few more years, but he won’t be removed from the world of volleyball. Christian Dunn will take over the reigns of the Pearland program beginning next year.
Under Turner’s leadership, the Houston Area Volleyball Coaches Association was organized four years ago and he was named the Executive Director of that organization which he will continue to lead.
He was also influential in getting the Texas Association of Volleyball Coaches organized this past year in which he will be the Executive Director of that organization so his plate will be full in the coming years.
But Turner’s influence he has had with hundreds of players has had special meaning and he will be greatly missed from the coaching ranks.
Dawson and Pearland swept most of the top individual awards.
MVP honors were shared as Dawson’s Jordyn Sinnette and Pearland’s Brooke Botkin were honored.
Dawson’s Jordan Brown was named Outstanding Defensive Player and Sarah Kirk was named Outstanding Setter.
Pearland’s Sam Demmon was named Newcomer of the Year.
Named to the All-District first-team from Dawson included: Kynnedi Johnson, Kate Plummer, Marisabell Torres, Sinnette, Brown, and Kirk.
Named to the second-team for Dawson was Jalynn Finnie.
Named to the All-District first-team from Pearland included: Sam Costello, Grace Lee, Katie Whitehead, Botkin, and Demmon.
Named to the second-team from Pearland was: Amanda Collins and April Conant.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email