2016 Business of the Year Award went to Memorial Hermann. Pictured are John N. Lyle, VII, Ashlea Quinonez, Corrina Abrego, Mario Garner, Donna Coneley, Monica Mackerron, Kristofer Schoeffler, and Carol Artz-Bucek.

Pearland Chamber hosts Star Wars banquet, announces 2016 awards

In News by Reporter NewsLeave a Comment

With out of this world decorations, the Pearland Chamber of Commerce 55th annual banquet was a night of success stories as the crowd enjoyed the “Star Wars – The Phone Awakens” theme.

The event was held Jan. 26 at the Knights of Columbus Hall in Pearland and offered a reception followed by dinner, entertainment and award presentations.

Awards and recognition were given to Ambassador, Business, Citizen, and Member of the Year, as well as to both new and outgoing members of the Board of Directors.

Chamber Board Director Linda Darnell with Allstate Insurance made the award presentation for Ambassador of the Year to John Moellenkamp, Any Lab Test Now in Pearland.

Drew Dietrick and Gareth Blackett, ADDI Printing and past honorees of the Pearland Chamber’s Business of the Year presented the 2016 Business of the Year award to Memorial Hermann.

Mayor Tom Reid, City of Pearland announced the Pearland Chamber of Commerce 2016 Citizen of the Year was Dr. William A. Staples, President, University of Houston-Clear Lake.

Pearland Chamber of Commerce President and CEO Carol Artz-Bucek presented the 2016 Member of the Year Award to Dr. Melanie Melancon, Eye Styles.

Artz-Bucek also presented a special 2016 Member of the Year Award to the group that organizes and hosts First Fridays, an event that welcomes members to come and network.
The awardees are Lety Jimenez-Ler, Elements Massage, Julie Darley, Dream Vacations and Sasha Costa, The Media Heroes.

Outgoing Chair of the Board John N. Lyle, VII announced the Brett Binkley with Binkley & Barfield, Inc as the recipient of the 2016 Chairman’s Award. Each year the outgoing Chair of the Board is asked to select an individual that helped them through their term.

Outgoing directors were Brian Holroyd, Triad Retail Construction; Teir Allender, Pearland Town Center and Patrick Larkin, The Larkin Law Firm. The three were thanked for their time and commitment to the Chamber as board members.

The 2017 Board of Directors include the following officers: Chair, Kristofer Schoeffler, Pearland Animal Hospital, Past Chair, John N. Lyle, VII, Kelsey-Seybold Clinic, Chair Elect, Phil Lloyd, Birth Your Legacy, Secretary/Treasurer, Michelle Colombo, Michelle Graham Colombo CPA, Vice Chair Membership Relations, Preston Phillips, Heritage Bank, Vice Chair Community Relations, Donna Coneley, Memorial Hermann, Brett Binkley, Vice Chair Governmental Relations, Binkley & Barfield, Inc. and Vice Chair Governance, Mark Smith, Smith Reed & Armstrong.

The 2017 Board of Directors are Andrew Pikoff, The Pikoff Team, Keller Williams; Ann Strouhal, Strouhal & Associates; Charity Ellis, Advocare International; Linda Darnell, Allstate Insurance; Papar Faircloth, Community Impact Newspaper; Richard Lambert, Edward Jones; Sandra Cavazos, A-Better Plumbing Company; Sasha Costa, The Media Heroes LLC; and Seth Thompson, AG|CM, Inc.

The 2017 Board of Directors one year appointees are Charles Eastland, Cobb Fendley & Associates, Inc and Kevin Murphy, Triad Retail Construction.

Story by Karolyn Gephart

Print Friendly, PDF & Email