Buckelew, Hedgeman, Lowery, Nicholas, Lovings take top district honors

In Sports by Reporter NewsLeave a Comment


It shouldn’t be a surprise that the Pearland Oilers and the Dawson Eagles took all the top district honors this season after both teams finished as Co-District 23-6A Champions. The two teams split their head-to-head contests while taking out the rest of the league teams with a 11-1 mark.

Pearland head coach Steve Buckelew was named as 23-6A “Coach of the Year” after leading the Oilers to their second best record in the history of the school at 30-6.

Buckelew has been at the helm of the Oilers basketball program for 21 years. He has experienced the highs and the lows as a head coach. But he does remember those monumental times such as getting his 700th victory at the expense of the Brazoswood Buccaneers 83-48 this season.

The veteran coach won the 5A Region III title for the 1997-98 season to advance to the 5A state basketball tournament where they fell to Midland in the state semifinal game.

Pearland senior Javen Hedgeman was named the league’s Most Valuable Player as he averaged 12.6 points per game. He hit 32-of-89 3-pointers, 80-of-124 free throws, grabbed 125 rebounds, dished out 185 assists, blocked 15 shots, and had 61 steals.

Pearland sophomore Javonne Lowery was named Newcomer of the Year after he averaged 10.3 points a game. He hit 34-of-114 3-pointers, grabbed 105 rebounds, passed out 42 assists, blocked five shots, and had 31 steals.

Dawson senior Karl Nicholas was named, the 23-6A Offensive Player of the Year. The 6-foot, 8-inch Montana signee averaged 14.3 points per game and 9.4 rebounds per contest. Nicholas hit 188-of-365 shots from the field, 67-of-120 free throws, grabbed 292 rebounds, passed out 48 assists, and had 43 blocks.

Dawson senior Braxton Lovings was named 23-6A Defensive Player of the Year. Lovings averaged 8.8 points per game while hitting 13-of-36 3-pointers, 92-of-142 free throws, grabbed 94 rebounds, and passed out 159 assists.

Pearland had three players named to the All-District first-team. They were seniors Kelyn Adams, Colen James, and Kenny Brown.

Adams averaged 11.9 ppg, hit 19-of-69 3-pointers, hit 64-of-95 free throws, grabbed 160 rebounds, passed out 87 assists, had 13 blocks, and had 30 steals.

James averaged 8.3 ppg, hit 57-of-144 3-pointers, hit 46-of-63 free throws, grabbed 80 rebounds, and had 38 steals.

Brown averaged 8.8 ppg, hit 27-of-48 free throws, grabbed 239 rebounds, dished out 45 assists, had 15 blocks, and had 19 steals.

Dawson had two players named to the first-team. They were senior Jules Moor and junior Kris Dixon.

Moor averaged 15.7 ppg, hit 24-of-72 3-pointers, hit 105-of-180 free throws, grabbed 146 rebounds, passed out 45 assists, had 12 blocks, and 43 steals.

Dixon averaged 8.0 ppg, hit 25-of-77 3-pointers, sank 50-of-84 free throws, grabbed 183 rebounds, passed out 42 assists, 23 steals, and 13 blocks.

Dawson had three players named to the second-team. They were senior Phillip Prater, junior Andrew Eberhardt, and Kyle Matthews.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email