Election results for Friendswood announced

In News by Reporter NewsLeave a Comment


Mike Foreman was elected the new mayor of Friendswood as a result of the Joint General and Special election in Friendswood, Unofficial results were announced in the evening of election day May 5.

Foreman received 2,218 votes and his opponent Omar Peck received 1,892 votes.

In the Council race, incumbent Steve Rockey will begin a third term after he received 2,026 votes to opponent Michael Wood’s votes of 1,883. Rockey will serve again in Position 1.

Trish Hanks won for Position 3 with 2,233 votes. Her opponent Philip Ratisseau received 1,836 votes.

In Position 4, Robert Griffon will complete the remaining one year term that remained for Foreman who left Council to run for mayor. Griffon received 2,181 votes and his opponent Brent Erenwert received 1,798 votes.

In the race for directors on the Galveston County Consolidated Drainage District, Marcus Rives beat incumbent Carl J. Horecky. Rives received 1749 votes and incumbent Horecky received 1443 votes for Position No. 3.

Incumbent Harold L. Whitaker was reelected to Position No. 4. Whitaker received 1,674 votes. His opponents Mike Barker and Christine L. Mangle-Smith received 494 and 1,086 votes respectively.

Vote totals will be official when the City Council passes a Resolution canvassing the returns of the Election during the Council meeting May 14. At that time, candidates will be sworn into office and outgoing members of Council will be recognized.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email