FISD honors staff, students

In News by Reporter NewsLeave a Comment


Six staff members were recognized and honored for Making a Difference at the March 4 meeting of Friendswood ISD.

Isabel Rexroad and Laurie Montesinos were honored from Westwood Elementary. Rexroad is an inclusion aide and is in her first year in the district. Montesinos teaches kindergarten and has been in FISD for four years.

Rachel Adams and Anne Romolo from Bales were honored. Adams is a PE aide and has been in the district two years, with Romolo in her first year as a fourth grade self-contained teacher.

Cline recognized Barbara Kessler who is in her 15th year and is a Gifted and Talented program teacher. Katie Turner was also honored as a Special Ed paraprofessional in her first year.

Five student groups were honored at the meeting.

Friendswood High School wrestler Manny Elizondo was honored for winning the 5A State Championship in the 170 lb. category. The other two state competitors, Vicente Castillo and Ryan Aamodt, were also honored.

All-State Band for 2019 performers and one alternate were honored. Six students performed with All-State groups at the Texas Music Educators Association in San Antonio, Feb. 13-16. Three students, Jackson Rives, Eric Li and Connor Thurman, competed as the State Class 6A and three, Shannon McGill, Price Moran, and Daniel Nagle as Class 5A. Nick Pollack was first alternate to State.

The Girl’s Swim Team finished in third place in the State at the University of Texas in Austin State Championship Meet recently and were honored at the March board meeting. The Boys Swim Team placed 12th at State. Both teams were recognized by the board.

Girls include Olivia Theall, Lezli Sisung, Leah Givens, Abigail Nelson, Allison Proulx, Allie Hansen, and Lily Ellis. The Boys Team members include Max Hardt, Joshua Haffelder, Vinnie Gangitano, Gabe Kovach, Gabe Costa, Joe Sloan, Nathan Haney, and Nick Jankowski.

Four DECA students were honored for representing FISD at DECA State competition in Dallas recently. The six include Hamad Elsaadi, Caitlin Green, Joscelin O’Connor, and Daniel Gutierrez.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email