FISD holds public hearing, Board Workshop to adopt tax rate

In Friendswood by Reporter NewsLeave a Comment

By Karolyn Gephart

The Friendswood Independent School District held a public hearing August 24, 2020 in the FISD Board Room at 402 Laurel Dr. as part of a Board workshop to discuss the school district’s budget that will determine the tax rate to be adopted. Public participation in the discussion was encouraged.

Per the Notice of Budget and Tax Rate which was published on August 12, 2020, the proposed Maintenance and Operations (M&O) tax rate is $0.9835 and the proposed Interest and Sinking (I&S or debt service) tax rate is $0.2759 for a total tax rate of $1.2594.

The total proposed rate has no change from the prior year. There is a decrease of $0.0589 from the prior year in M&O and an increase of $0.0589  in the Interest and Sinking Fund.

The tax rate will raise more taxes for M&O  than last year’s rate. The resolution to adopt the 2020 tax rate was approved by the Board members as presented.

Also on the agenda was the approval of the 2020 – 2021 School Safety Committee Membership.  According to Senate Bill 11 Threat Assessment and Safe and Supportive School Team, school districts must establish a threat assessment and safe and supportive school team to serve at each campus. Policies and procedures of the teams must be adopted.

The teams are responsible developing and implementing the program at their campus. Members require training in Counseling, Behavior Management, Mental Health, Substance Abuse, Classroom Instruction, Special Education, School Administration, School Safety and Security, Emergency Management, Law Enforcement.

While some of the campus team members are already trained, those who are not, will train virtually through the Texas School Safety Center. Each FISD campus team has Cpt. Lauersdorf included in it and all but Westwood have Sgt. Kimberly included in their teams.

Friendswood High School has the primary team and consist of Officer Ives (Trained), Chad Jones (T), Samantha Eubanks, Christa Yates and Abygail Kinard.

FJH team has Fletcher Weston (T), Drew Whittaker, Allison Loehmann, Wade Rendon, Jayme Norris and Jennifer Kilpatrick.

Staff members at Windsong are all trained and include Kim Johnstone, Dina Jaet, Christina Hogue and Brandi Hoover.

Bales team members are Emily Stanley (T), Peggy Matejowsky (T), Susan Liufau, Lauren Hayward and Kelly Parker.

Cline team members are Julianne McCarty (T), Katherine Crites (T), Katy Swift, and Robin Hames.

Westwood trained members forming their committee include Lee Whitlock, Heather Elmore and Anita Gregg.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email