FISD Board of Trustees honored six staff members from three campuses, Westwood, Cline and Bales. The honorees include Monica Rasmussen, Chris Hergert, Lynette Oldham, Claudia Rieth, Julianne McCarty and Jennifer Burris. They are joined by Board members and Superintendent Trish Hanks.

Seven FISD staff members honored by School Board for Making a Difference

In News by Reporter NewsLeave a Comment

Seven staff members in Friendswood ISD were recognized and honored for making a difference every day by the Friendswood ISD Board of Trustees at their February meeting.

The honorees included Monica Rasmussen and Chris Hergert from Westwood Elementary, Lynette Oldham and Claudia Rieth from Bales Intermediate, Julianne McCarty and Jennifer Burris from Cline Elementary, and Cheryl Ryne from Friendswood High School.

Each person was chosen by their principals for the honor.

Rasmussen is a Pre-K inclusion teacher and Hergert is the Westwood registrar. Principal Kristin Moffitt recognized Rasmussen loved working with special needs students and was great at finding activities to challenge her students. She recognized Hergert for her hard work and cheerful disposition.

Oldham, Bales’ fifth grade math teacher, was honored for her 24 years at the campus and continuously going beyond the call of duty. Principal JT Patton recognized Rieth, Quest paraprofessional, for being selfless and putting students first.

McCarty is the third grade team leader at Cline and Burris the registrar. Principal Barry Clifford complimented McCarty on her technology implementation and her sense of humor. He honored Burris for her dedication and warm welcoming nature.

FHS Speech and Debate Coach, Ryne, was honored for being chosen as one of 15 recipients to win the prestigious 2016 UIL Sponsor Excellence Award. The winners were selected by a panel of judges in the areas of academics, athletics, and music from nominations submitted by school principals and superintendents across the state.

Story by Karolyn Gephart

Print Friendly, PDF & Email