1st Place winners: Friendswood Frame and Gallery, 150 S. Friendswood Dr., Friendswood. Elisa Williams (left), Ginger Goudy (seated), Luis Briones (owner) and Andy Garcia (not pictured).

Winning scarecrows chosen in 2017 downtown contest

In News by Reporter NewsLeave a Comment


Four winners have been announced for the 2017 Downtown Scarecrow Contest, sponsored by Friends of Downtown Friendswood.

The winning first place scarecrow was the one with the pumpkin head with a camera and frame taking a selfie in the window of Friendswood Frame and Gallery. Located at 150 S. Friendswood Drive, the scarecrow was created by owner Luis Briones and staff Ginger Goudy, Elisa Williams and Andy Garcia.

Second place was awarded to Friendswood ISD Administration Department. The winner is part of a huge diorama by FISD departments and campuses at 208 W. Spreading Oaks.

Third place was awarded to FISD Transportation Department. Creators included Debbie Rowe, Christina Herzog, Lynda Wooley, Kitty Crow, Trina Behne, Julia Rollen., Pam Green, Tom Behne and Kathlyn Boatfield Herzog.

Honorable Mention winners were B.J. and Jason Wade of Budget Blinds, 810 S. Friendwood Dr., Friendswood.

Judges reviewed 33 entries in the contest. Businesses who participated included Starmaker Dancewear, TCBY Yogurt, Tannos Building, Huckeba Law Firm, Hometown Shopping Center with Brasserie 1895, Bay Area Pilates, Flawless Skincare, Girl Scouts Troops 26004, 143003, and 26025, Excel Title Group with Crinion, Davis and Richardson, Friends Uncorked, Shell Gas, and Amertex Roofing and Construction.

Unjudged scarecrows included Hometown Bank, Floor Source, Chase Bank, the Library, the Perry Home, the band mom scarecrow at Ace Hardware, the Texas Music Fest guitar playing scarecrow at Captain’s Corner, and Huntington Apartments.

“Thanks to all who participated and the downtown area looks wonderful with so many scarecrows welcoming Fall 2017,” Contest Chair Michelle Thompson said. “FDFA and I hope everyone enjoys the cute presentations and congratulations to this year’s winners.”

Print Friendly, PDF & Email