2020 primary drawing local candidates

In Brazoria County, Manvel, Pearland by Reporter NewsLeave a Comment

By Nicole Jones

The first week of filing for the 2020 primaries has drawn local candidates.

Filing began Nov. 9 and will continue until Dec. 9. The primary election is March 3, 2020.

Three candidates have filed to run for Brazoria County sheriff in the Republican primary: Richard Allen Foreman of Lake Jackson, Randy Rhyne of Angleton and L. “Bo” Stallman III, also of Angleton.

In the County Court at Law race, attorney Courtney Gilbert of Lake Jackson has filed for the Republican primary.

Kristin Bulanek of Lake Jackson has filed for County Tax Assessor-Collector in the Republican primary.

Incumbents Donald Dude Payne and Pearland resident Stacy Adams are running for reelection to their respective county commissioner seats in the Republican primary.

Pearland resident Pete Gamboa and Angleton resident Sarah Linder are both running in the Republican primary for Justice of the Peace Precinct 4, Place 1.

Precinct 3 County Constable CB “Buck” Stevens is running for reelection in the Republican primary.

As of Nov. 15, no Democrats had filed for Brazoria County races.

Two of Pearland’s city leaders have announced their candidacy for the Texas 22nd Congressional District on the Republican ticket, the seat currently held by Rep. Pete Olson. First elected in 2008, Olson this summer announced that he would not seek reelection.

A former border patrol agent and Pearland City Councilman, Greg Hill announced his candidacy in August. Hill served three terms on the Pearland Council and in 2018 successfully ran for county court-at-law judge.

Pearland Councilman Derrick Reed will face at least two other opponents in the Democratic primary for the 22nd district seat. A former Harris County prosecutor, Reed, who announced his candidacy in July, is currently an employment and business law attorney.

The 22nd district covers the majority of Fort Bend County, Katy, Friendswood and part of Brazoria County including Pearland and Alvin.

The last day to register to vote in the 2020 primaries is Feb. 3, according to the Secretary of State’s office.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email